Best of the web: April.

Welcome to another version of ‘best of the web’ – a round up of the things I have read, watched, consumed and LOVED online this month.

The Newsletter: To Her Door by Mia Abrahams & Grace Jennings-Edquist.
I found this newsletter after they’d already sent out three issues so luckily I got to binge read a few issues before I had to wait a whole week for a new issue. As described on their website – “Inspired by the women of Australia, To Her Door brings creativity, feminism, politics, and current events right to your inbox. We’re dedicated to telling you stories that matter — and that you actually want to read.” The newsletter is the creation of the amazing Mia Abrahams & Grace Jennings-Edquist, who met in the 90’s. The two women have been in the media industry for a number of years and told media site Mumberella, they started To Her Door as they “wanted to create an inclusive space where Australian women could tell stories, discuss issues, ask questions, and pass the microphone around all the wonderful people who care about each other and the world around them.”
Click here to get all the goodness of To Her Door straight to your inbox.

The Music: Meg Mac’s new song, Low Blows.
Ah Meg Mac you absolute musical genius you. Meg is back with this absolute winner of a single after success of song like Never Be, Roll Up Your Sleeves, Grandma’s Hands & her cover of Bridges by Broods. The vibes are similar to her previous songs with her raw and emotional vocals really shining through. She explained to Triple j’s Ben and Liam this new song was all “about standing up for yourself”.
All in all it is a ripper song and I can’t wait to hear the whole album which is out 14th July. Listen to Low Blows yourself by watching the video below.

 

The Netflix Show: Thirteen Reasons Why.
*Caution for those who haven’t finished – contains spoilers.*
Okay so I am well aware that there is A LOT of controversy around this show but I enjoyed it. Sure it was bloody confronting in some parts and I skipped through all the rape scenes because they really upset me and the suicide scene made me really unsettled but aside from that I think it is great. It’s started a conversation around suicide that really needed to happen. I disagree with critics saying that it ‘glorifies and romanticises suicide’ because if you can watch that suicide scene and say it is anything but traumatic and violent there is something wrong with you. I do however agree that the show doesn’t offer the viewer any ways to get help except to commit suicide which I think is pretty unhealthy. I’m also not sure about the blame factor within the show. However as someone who suffers mental illness and has thought about suicide more than once, I think that this is something most people should watch and talk about. The people I’ve talked to about the show also agree and a few of these people also suffer depression. But don’t just take my opinion – maybe watch it and make up your own mind.
PS – this show also has an ace soundtrack. Check it out on YouTube or Spotify.


The YouTube Video: A Ted Talk called ‘How to get stuff done when you are depressed’.
Jessica Gimeno is an absolute QUEEN. She is 28 years old and deals with FIVE chronic illnesses. She is a health activist, writer and speaker and I have a teeny girl crush on her. She did a Ted Talk in 2015 all about her health issues and some tips for getting stuff done when you are depressed. It is excellent and everyone with a mental illness should watch it. I’ve included the the video below so you can watch it if you are interested. (Just watch it anyway).

 

The Article: Why Self-Stigma is the Most Dangerous Pitfall when Battling Mental Illness by Noha Medhat
I think I feel a theme in the last three recommendations – they’re all related in someway to mental health. This may be because this month I’ve started being a little more proactive with my recovery. Anyway, this article by Noha Medhat is incredibly interesting. It is about the dangers of self stigma when dealing with mental illness, and often how self stigma goes unnoticed – much like the mental illnesses we face. It is thought provoking, wonderful and a decent read. Here is one of my favourite lines from the article, “The essence of stigma is viewing mental illness differently from physical illness because of its nonphysical nature. And that’s a trap I subconsciously fell into for a very long time, with unfortunate consequences.”
Read Noha’s article here.

-M x

 

What have you enjoyed this month? Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

